Back to all posts
Posted on

Hillview School Educator Nominated for Edwin Parr Teacher Award by Northland School Division

Northland School Division (NSD) is delighted to announce that Kaylyn Jackson, Hillview School, has been selected as NSD’s 2024 Edwin Parr Teacher Award Nominee. The Edwin Parr Teacher Award recognizes first-year teachers that demonstrate exemplary dedication and commitment in the field of education.

"I am incredibly honoured to be nominated and would like to thank Northland School Division and Hillview School for the nomination,” said Jackson. “I especially want to thank my students, they continue to inspire me and I couldn't have done it without them. This year has gone by so quickly and I have learned so much from both the staff and students at my school. I look forward to being able to continue learning, growing and making a difference." 

“On behalf of the Board of Trustees, we congratulate Kaylyn as the 2024 Edwin Parr Teacher Award nominee for NSD,” said Robin Guild, Board Chair. “As a first-year teacher, Kaylyn’s dedication to working with children is highly evident. We appreciate the passion and effort she puts in to support student success.” 

"Kaylyn excels in building authentic relationships with her students through daily interactions and by promoting a classroom culture of fairness and respect," said Cal Johnson, Superintendent of Schools/CEO. "She skillfully integrates peer mentoring and land-based learning into the student learning experience. Congratulations, Kaylyn, on this well-deserved nomination!"

Kaylyn was recognized at NSD’s Long Service Awards on May 11, 2024. Each year, the Alberta School Boards Association (ASBA) honours outstanding first-year teachers representing six zones throughout the province. She will be recognized at the ASBA Zone One Luncheon in the fall of 2024.

Prev Post